CIC Announces New Leadership for 2016

ALEXANDRIA, Va. A confluence of meeting professionals, executives, and thought leaders recently gathered in Baltimore  for the Convention Industry Council (CIC) Annual Meeting of Members, where a new slate for the CIC Board of Directors was voted on and approved, ushering in a new leadership perspective.

David DuBois of the International Association of Exhibitions and Events finalized his term as CIC Board Chair and passed the torch onto Bonnie Fedchock of the National Association for Catering & Events.

“I think it’s vital that the organization continues to facilitate the exchange of insights and incubate ideas for new CIC initiatives and programs,” DuBois said. “We made some major strides this year to that end, and I am confident that the new board will continue to build and expand upon those successes.”

The following CIC members were elected to the 2016 CIC Board of Directors leadership:


    CHAIR: Bonnie Fedchock, CAE National Association for Catering & Events.
    CHAIR-ELECT: Susan Robertson, CAE ASAE: The Center for Association Leadership.

At-large Board Member Elected to a Two-Year Term:

    Martin Sirk, International Congress & Convention Association.

At-large board members continuing on the board:

    Vicki Hawarden, CMP International Association of Venue Managers.
    Kimberly Miles, CMP American Hotel & Lodging Association.
    Paul Van Deventer, Meeting Professionals International.

CMP Governance Commission Chair:

    Janet Sperstad, CMP Madison College.

CMP Governance Commission Vice Chair:

    Matthew J. DiSalvo, CMP, SER Exposition Services.

In addition to growing its global membership, CIC plans to continue its work towards advocating for the economic and social value of the meetings industry through its participation in the Meetings Mean Business Coalition and activating its own advocates to support coalition efforts.

Reported by: